MINUTES OF OF SPECIAL MEETING VARNER CREEK UTILITY DISTRICT

October 10, 2017

STATE OF TEXAS :

COUNTY OF BRAZORIA :

The Board of Directors of Varner Creek Utility District of Brazoria County, Texas convened in special session, open to the public in the Oak Room at the Clubhouse, Columbia Lakes, West Columbia, Texas 77486, within the District on the 10th day of October, 2017, at 9 am. and the roll was called of the duly constituted officers and members of the Board, towit:

Allan Sassin President

Gene Pell Vice-President / Financial Director

Wayne Pollard Asst. Secretary Rebecca Carroll Secretary Ray Sauer Director

Also present were the following: Debra Lanehart, 1st Capital Business Services; Steve Matula, Doug Roesler and Robert Bagley, Baker & Lawson Engineering; Morris Ryder; Ryder & Co.. All members were present except Director Sauer thus constituting a quorum.

Allan Sassin called the meeting to order at 9:00 am.

- 1. Map digitizing: Doug Roesler will come by the Administrator office to view the maps for digitizing.
- 2. Debra Lanehart presented list of costs for Secretary of State Election Law Seminar in Austin, November 28-December 1, 2017. The District will have an election for new Directors in May 2018.

Motion to authorize attendance and associated costs for Debra Lanehart and Paula Jones for the Election Law Seminar in Austin made by Director Carroll, seconded by Director Pollard and the vote was unanimous.

3. Clark Lord (attorney) and Joe Morrow (financial adviser) have been in contact with Moody's to mitigate the effect on the District bond rating of being in flood disaster area.

4. Director Pell made the motion to replace the three (3) remaining screens at the East Pump Station. Director Carroll seconded the motion and the vote was unanimous.

The engineers presented the Board with list of projects and estimated costs for projects related to issues observed during August 2017 Hurricane Harvey.

There being no other issues to consider, Director Pell made the motion to adjourn. The motion was seconded by Director Carroll and the vote was unanimous.

(SEAL)

Debra Lanehart District Administrator